Shield Hero’s Valentine 3

After returning to the village from the dark side of this world.

 

“Niichan Niichan! Welcome back!”

 

At the same time I returned, Keel came running up to me.

Lately you’ve been greeting me in your dog form whenever I return.

You’re in the process of turning into a loyal dog.

Even though in the beginning you glared at me with the eyes of an abandoned dog distrustful of humans.

I thought, sighing as I stroked his head lightly.

 

“I’m back”

“Welcome back, Naofumi-sama”

“I’m back. Raphtalia, was there any problems?”

“Not especially….just-”

“Niichan Niichan!”

“Keel, I’m in the middle of talking to Raphtalia. Be quiet. Go play with a ball or tend to the crepe tree or something”

“Niichan Niichan! There’s a new kind of crepe growing from the crepe tree! It tastes like chocolate dough and chocolate sauce! It’s just right for Valentine’s day!”

 

Keel ignored my words completely while telling me what was on his mind and showing me the chocolate flavored crepe.

Chocolate flavored crepe huh…..it can’t get any worse than this.

 

“Yes, I was thinking about reporting this to you Naofumi-sama”

 

Ahh, Raphtalia was also thinking of reporting the chocolate flavored crepe to me.

Is this something that’s worth reporting?

Well a little abnormality could be the symptom of a big problem so it is necessary.

 

“Hmm….so Valentine’s does exist in this world huh”

 

Christmas and New Year’s exists so I was thinking it was likely.

And lately merchants have been implying something similar to it in their conversations.

They were saying that even if they raise the prices a bit, there will still be plenty of guys buying; it’s an ideal season.

Accessory Merchant and others were making a fuss about whether they should dabble in goods other than their specialties.

 

“Yes, it does. Everyone in the village is in the midst of talking about it”

“Chocolate exists in this world too right?”

 

Did it appear in this world from a plant similar to a cacao tree?

The past heroes probably spread it.

….Or reincarnated beings did.

It’s annoying to think about but their efforts are useful here and there.

 

“Yes. From what I understand, there’s a certain region that has chocolate growing trees and it seems during this time of the year there are a lot of chocolate sales”

“Oh?”

 

Chocolate bearing trees…..

Are they sold as is?

 

‘Sounds familiar,’ I thought, as I looked over to the bread and crepe trees.

I have a feeling it’s better not to ask who created it.

Asking would be like stepping on a landmine.

 

Speaking of which, I’ve also heard of that region.

I was thinking it had to do with cocoa, but I vaguely recall hearing about a chocolate farmhouse.

Perhaps this crepe tree means it can be considered that we have a crepe farmhouse…

Frankly, I’d hate that.

 

“So? Are you going to say that you want to do Valentine’s in the village?”

“Niichan, you’re so perceptive!”

“Of course, I realized it during Christmas time”

 

It was very annoying but, when I saw their happy faces, I couldn’t have ill-feelings.

 

“And? I’m not wrong in thinking that Valentine’s is a day where girls give chocolate to guys they like right?”

“Is there another type?”

 

…..I can’t say it.

I can’t talk about the old me would get swept away in a chocolate frenzy.

“You can also give chocolates to friends,” I would say, as I distributed chocolates to boys and girls indiscriminately.

Whether in real life or on the internet.

I loved all events so I was really into it!

 

“And….Melty-chan came with a proposal”

 

Melty did? I have a feeling it’s been a long time since last we met.

Last we met was Christmas? Well, she was sleeping though.

 

“What did she propose?”

“‘What if we use Firo-chan as an idol to sell chocolates?’ was her idea. And that we should use the money earned towards rebuilding”

 

Just then, Melty came with Firo in her human form.

That’s right. Melty was busy with diplomatic missions, but Firo was busy dancing and singing as an idol.

Presently, Firo is the top bread winner among the villagers.

Mainly as an idol and associated merchandise.

There seems to be playback gadgets called sound crystals similar to image crystals.

Well, it seems like they sell expensive record-like things here recorded with what you can call cheap gramophones too.

 

“Hmm? Chocolates, delichiiIOouuusSS”

 

With chocolate sauce sticking to her cheek, Firo is devouring a crepe.

But, can’t you do something about that enunciation?

 

“It is called Firo-chan’s hand-made chocolate”

“Firo can make chocolate herself?”

 

How should I say it? Firo’s specialty is eating food, not creating it.

In fact, I’ve never seen her making food.

Store-bought, raw, or times when I cooked her food.

If she were to eat something when by herself, she’d just eat it raw.

 

“That’s….right. But, it’s not like we have to show proof that Firo-chan made it right?”

“Well you’re right about that”

 

Melty, you’re also wicked sometimes.

Fans prefer hand-made Valentine’s chocolate from their idol.

But this is probably the reality of it.

 

“If Naofumi or the kids here manufacture and sell it, I think it’ll make for good profits”

“That’s not a bad idea. I was thinking about doing a Valentine’s event after all”

“Yeah, so can I request you to do it?”

“Alright alright, I get it. And? How do we make chocolate?”

“This is something I was going to leave to the country’s chef, but can you do it?”

“Niichan. Hurry up and let me taste it”

“I can do it but…say Keel, that’s enough of the chocolate crepe talk. You need to participate in idol work too”

“EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEh!?”

 

Keel was startled, almost dropping his crepe.

Don’t drop it and go mad again. Ren isn’t here now after all.

 

“What are you being surprised about? This is a good opportunity. If you sell more than Firo, I’ll let you stop dressing like a girl”

“T-that’s true but”

 

Keel is still being made to wear girly attire…. like maid uniforms with frills or dresses.

She has it off when in dog form though, as you would expect.

 

“You’ve achieved good results peddling. It’s not a bad idea to make your idol debut”

“N-no niichan! I, can’t sing songs in front of that many people! I’m no good at it for starters”

 

…..Fu

I put on a kind face, while sneering at her on the inside, I put my hands on Keel’s shoulders, put my eyes level with hers and opened my mouth.

 

“It’s okay Keel. Idol work isn’t about letting people hear your songs. It’s about selling the right for them to be there and watch you singing and dancing.”

“I feel like this information is extremely wrong!”

 

Raphtalia butted in but, it’s not wrong.

It doesn’t matter if your singing is good or bad.

 

“Really? I feel like something is different when looking at Firo’s though?”

“Nnnnnn-? Is it?”

“Firo is……special. Even if this guy only sings, money pours in. There’s different types of idols. Not all idols have to be like Firo. And….they’ll eventually get tired of it if it’s only Firo”

“Bu-!”

“What did you say Naofumi! Take that back!”

 

Firo and Melty are protesting but…at the least the idols I know of disappear after 10 years from the industry.

At best the ones that go on to become actresses are able to stick around.

Well, it’s like perishable food.

If not just Firo but Keel too doesn’t work while they can, there won’t be earnings.

 

Keel seems to be popular.

The customer demographic is different. There’s nothing you can’t do if you do it.

More precisely, there’s the option of marketing her as a rival.

 

Motoyasu’s three birds are….in the same category as Firo.

They’re in the singing and dancing rival category. They have a quirk because they’re three people but they can’t win against the real thing.

That’s why if you compare them to Firo, it’s a bit questionable.

 

Furthermore, profits go into Motoyasu’s pocket. Why do I have to do something that won’t make me money?

…..Well, Motoyasu does put all the profit into Firo.

After carefully thinking about it, Motoyasu is a thoughtless guy huh.

 

Getting back to Keel.

Dressing like a man fits her too. Her girly appearance gives a naive impression.

That’s why male clothes…..Being a girl in male clothes might do well.

 

“For now….I should make you be an exceptional beautiful girl who dresses like a man”

“Being ordered by Niichan to do it gives me a bad feeling”

“What, you don’t want to wear it? I’m not sure a loincloth would work”

“That’s not what I mean! Even if I wear men’s clothing it doesn’t seem like anything will change!”

 

Of course.

Being a boyish girl and being a man is different.

It’s not to the extent of the Tailor but, it seems like this world has a lot groups interested in subculture.

 

“Hold on Naofumi! Take it back quickly!”

“If you want me to take it back, you’ll have to show results. Producer-and-backup-singer-Her-Majesty-Melty. If Firo is still doing idol work after 10 years I’ll take it back”

“I’ll show you!”

 

Well, it seems taking it back or whatever could be done by me just saying “That’s amazing.”

 

Firo and Melty are chummy with each other as always.

For whatever reason Melty sings together with her sometimes it seems.

Therefore, there should be no problem making Melty an idol too.

 

However, Melty has a big problem.

That is, she’s Her Majesty the Queen of the current biggest country in the world, Meruromaruku.

If she spends her time infatuated with the idol world while being a queen, there will be problems that arise in other areas.

It’s possible that the value of queens in the world will be seen as cheapened.

 

“For the time being, let’s get the matter of Keel’s clothes be tended to by Imia and the others”

 

…..The Tailor is knowledgeable about this area right. As a Fujoshi.

 

“Ahhh…..even Keel-kun has been dragged into Naofumi-sama’s sinister plans”

 

Raphtalia clutched her head and groaned.

Who cares. This is for the expansion of the village, and consequently for the world.

And….it’s obvious Keel has already fallen into my clutches.

When you see her emotionally attached to me like a dog.

 

“Uu….I don’t want to sing and dance”

“It’s okay Keel”

“What is?”

“In your case, instead of singing and dancing, it’s more like acting in a play. I’ll leave the choreography to someone who is knowledgeable in it, so just do as your told like when you act like you’re selling when out peddling”

“Is that so Niichan?”

“Yeah”

“Then, I’ll do my best!”

 

Keel started to shake his tail and showed enthusiasm.

What a sucker.

 

“By the way Niichan. About the chocolates”

 

Keel and Raphtalia both started staring at me.

Actually, Melty and the entire village started looking at my direction.

You still want to talk about that huh.

 

“What is it?”

“I want you to teach how to make delicious handmade chocolate”

 

….I didn’t see that coming.

Well, I did do deserts, but I never taught them anything like how to make delicious chocolate.

It’s Valentine’s so the girls in the village are motivated….is the reason huh.

Speaking of…..there were a lot of friends that always anticipated my friend-chocolates every year.

I wonder if they’re doing well?

 

 

One thought on “Shield Hero’s Valentine 3

Leave a comment